Canada’s Chinese EV Quota: Essential 2026 Rules Explained
Quick answer: Canada’s Chinese EV quota lets eligible importers bring in up to 49,000 China-built electric vehicles in its first year (March 1, 2026 to February 28, 2027) at a 6.1% tariff, with the volume growing 6.5% a year. Every shipment needs a Global Affairs Canada permit, and permits go only to vehicle manufacturers or the Canadian-resident agents they appoint. The quota does not open a private import route, and it doesn’t replace Transport Canada’s safety rules. As of October 16, 2026, it is administered first-come, first-served “until further notice.”
Questions about BYD availability in Canada? Contact us → | Back to home
Where the Quota Came From
In 2024, Canada put a 100% surtax on Chinese-built electric vehicles, which priced them out of the market. On January 16, 2026, Canada and China announced a preliminary joint arrangement on bilateral economic and trade issues, and Canada committed to set up an annual import quota for EVs that originate in China. The quota took effect on March 1, 2026.
It’s administered by Global Affairs Canada under the Export and Import Permits Act. That detail matters more than it sounds: the thing that decides whether a Chinese EV can enter Canada under the quota is an import permit, not just a customs declaration at the border.
The Quota at a Glance
| Item | What the rules say |
|---|---|
| First-year volume | 49,000 vehicles |
| Annual growth | Volume increases by 6.5% a year |
| Tariff on permitted imports | 6.1% (most-favoured-nation rate), replacing the 100% surtax |
| Quota year | March 1 to February 28 (or 29) |
| Year 1, first period | March 1 to August 31, 2026: 24,500 vehicles |
| Year 1, second period | September 1, 2026 to February 28, 2027: 24,500 vehicles plus any unused volume from the first period |
| Permit | Shipment-specific, required for all imports, including temporary ones for testing or demonstration |
| Application window | Up to 30 days before the expected date of entry |
| Permit validity | A maximum of 60 days |
| Allocation method | First-come, first-served, until further notice |
| Low-price share | The portion reserved for EVs with a Free On Board price of $35,000 or less rises from 10% in year 2 to 50% in year 5 |
The volume, growth rate, and price-tier figures come from Global Affairs Canada’s consultation page. The permit rules come from the current Notice to Importers.
How the Quota Year Works
The quota year runs from March 1 to the end of February. The first year is split into two six-month periods. The first period, March 1 to August 31, 2026, had 24,500 vehicles. The second, September 1, 2026 to February 28, 2027, has 24,500 plus whatever went unused in the first. Global Affairs Canada publishes the official access quantities on its key dates page and tracks use in a separate utilization report. Trade reports put the second-half volume at roughly 33,000 vehicles, which would mean about 9,000 went unused in the first half. Check the official figures before relying on that number.
Permits are issued on demand, first-come, first-served, up to the available volume. An importer can apply up to 30 days before the shipment is expected to enter Canada, and the permit is valid for at most 60 days: 5 days before the expected entry date, the entry date itself, and 54 days after. Because the permit is tied to one shipment, it doesn’t cover a second container. The application has to be in the name of the importer of record with the correct commodity code and quantity, and any unused or expired permit has to be cancelled.

Who Can Use the Quota
This is the part that surprises people. The current notice sets two tests, and you have to pass both:
- Resident of Canada: for a person, someone who ordinarily lives in Canada; for a corporation, one with its head office in Canada or a branch office here.
- OEM: an original equipment manufacturer engaged in manufacturing or assembling new motor vehicles, specifically EVs.
A non-resident manufacturer can appoint a Canadian-resident agent to act as the importer. The notice gives consultants, local sales representatives, legal agents, and direct employees as examples. Global Affairs Canada also says it will monitor permits to give eligible applicants equitable access, which could include setting aside part of the available volume for manufacturers, including new market entrants.
Put plainly, this is a manufacturer program. An independent dealer, broker, or private buyer who isn’t acting as a manufacturer’s appointed agent doesn’t qualify. The government asked in its spring consultation whether the eligibility criteria should change, so it’s worth watching, but as of the August 2026 notice, that’s the rule.
What Counts as a “Chinese EV”
The quota follows where a vehicle was made, not whose badge is on it. A vehicle counts if it was substantially manufactured in China under Canada’s country-of-origin marking rules and falls under the tariff items listed in the notice. That’s why a China-built vehicle from a non-Chinese brand, like Tesla’s Shanghai-built Model 3, sits under the same permit system as a BYD would.
A complete knock-down kit that’s substantially manufactured in China and assembled in Canada or a third country is treated as a Chinese-origin vehicle too. Electric tricycles, golf carts, and three-wheeled mobility scooters classified under certain tariff items are outside the quota and don’t need a permit.
The 6.1% Tariff vs. the 100% Surtax
Eligible EVs imported under the quota are assessed at the most-favoured-nation tariff rate of 6.1%, which replaced the 100% surtax for permitted imports. Two things are worth knowing.
First, 6.1% is a customs tariff, not the price you pay. Ocean freight, GST or HST, provincial taxes, dealer margin, and the manufacturer’s own pricing all sit on top of it. Second, there’s no open-door rate above the quota. Imports of these EVs without a permit are prohibited, so you can’t simply pay a higher duty to bring one in outside the system.
The Quota Doesn’t Replace Safety Rules
A permit answers one question: may this shipment enter under the quota? It doesn’t answer whether the vehicle can be registered and driven in Canada. The notice is explicit that the importer is responsible for complying with any other requirements, including those of the Canada Border Services Agency, Transport Canada, and Environment and Climate Change Canada. Transport Canada’s own rules bar vehicles built and certified for a foreign market from being imported at all, with narrow exceptions. We cover that in detail in Can You Import a BYD From China to Canada?, because it’s the reason the quota doesn’t work as a shortcut for private buyers.
How the Quota Grows
The first-year volume of 49,000 increases by 6.5% annually. The share of the quota reserved for lower-priced EVs, those with a Free On Board price of $35,000 or less, starts at 10% in year 2 and reaches 50% in year 5. Free On Board is, roughly, the vehicle’s price at the port of export before ocean freight and insurance. The table below shows what that could look like. These are our estimates, assuming the 6.5% compounds each year, and the official figures will come from Global Affairs Canada.
| Quota year | Starts | Approximate volume | Share reserved for FOB $35,000 or less | Approximate units reserved |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Year 1 | March 1, 2026 | 49,000 | No reserved share stated | n/a |
| Year 2 | March 1, 2027 | about 52,200 | 10% | about 5,200 |
| Year 3 | March 1, 2028 | about 55,600 | Rising (intermediate shares not stated) | n/a |
| Year 4 | March 1, 2029 | about 59,200 | Rising (intermediate shares not stated) | n/a |
| Year 5 | March 1, 2030 | about 63,000 | 50% | about 31,500 |
The direction is clear even if the details aren’t final: over time, more of the quota is meant to go to cheaper vehicles. That’s the segment where models like the Atto 2 and Dolphin sit, and it’s why the price of a vehicle at the port of export will matter more to importers from 2027 onward.
What It Means for Buyers
Price. A lower tariff makes cheaper Chinese EVs possible in Canada, but it doesn’t set the price. Each manufacturer decides what to charge. BYD hasn’t published Canadian pricing; our model pages, including the Atto 3, Dolphin, and Seal, carry estimates and explain how each was built.
The federal rebate. The Electric Vehicle Affordability Program offers up to $5,000 on a battery-electric vehicle when the final price is $50,000 or less, but the vehicle must be built in Canada or in a country with a free-trade agreement with Canada. China-built vehicles don’t qualify, regardless of price.
Availability. In the latest trade reporting we’ve reviewed (early September 2026), BYD had a Canadian-facing website and was hiring for sales and dealer-network roles, but hadn’t opened vehicles for order or reservation. Manufacturers already operating in Canada, Tesla among them, were the early users of the quota.
Preparing. Home charging is the one part of ownership you can set up before any particular car arrives. Our guide to BYD home EV chargers covers what to check.
Common Misunderstandings
- “The quota means anyone can import a Chinese EV.” It doesn’t. Permits go to manufacturers and their appointed Canadian-resident agents.
- “6.1% is what the car will cost to import.” It’s the customs tariff only. Freight, taxes, and the manufacturer’s pricing come on top.
- “A permit makes the car street-legal.” It doesn’t. Safety compliance with Transport Canada is a separate requirement.
- “The quota is for BYD.” It’s shared by every manufacturer importing China-built EVs, including non-Chinese brands that build in China, and it’s first-come, first-served.
- “The rules are settled.” The notice stays in effect “until further notice,” and quota year 2 begins March 1, 2027 with a larger volume and a new low-price share.
What to Watch Next
Four things will move this page. First, any new Notice to Importers from Global Affairs Canada, which is where eligibility and allocation changes would appear. Second, the published access quantities and utilization data, which show how much of the quota is actually being used. Third, March 1, 2027, when year 2 starts with roughly 6.5% more volume and the first 10% low-price share. Fourth, BYD’s own announcements: Canadian-certified models, a dealer network, and official pricing. We’ll update this page as each one lands.
Frequently Asked Questions Canada’s Chinese EV quota
Can Canada import Chinese cars?
Yes, under a quota. Since March 1, 2026, eligible importers can bring in China-built EVs with a Global Affairs Canada permit at a 6.1% tariff. Each vehicle must also meet Canadian safety standards.
How many Chinese EVs can Canada import?
The first-year quota is 49,000 vehicles, split into two six-month periods of 24,500, with unused first-period volume carried into the second. The volume grows by 6.5% a year.
Who can import Chinese EVs under the quota?
A resident of Canada who is also a vehicle manufacturer, or a Canadian-resident agent appointed by a non-resident manufacturer. Independent dealers, brokers, and private buyers who aren’t appointed agents are not eligible.
Can I legally import a car from China?
Not a China-market vehicle as a private buyer. The quota permit is limited to manufacturers and their agents, and Transport Canada says vehicles built and certified for a foreign market can’t be imported or modified to meet Canadian standards.
How much does it cost to import a car from China to Canada?
There’s no private import route to price. For permitted imports by eligible manufacturers, the customs tariff is 6.1%, and freight, GST or HST, provincial taxes, and compliance costs add to that. Those vary by shipment, vehicle, and province.
How much tax to import a car from China?
For EVs imported under the quota, the tariff is 6.1%. GST or HST and provincial taxes apply on top. Private buyers can’t use the quota, so there’s no private-import tax figure to quote.
Is it cheaper to buy a car in China?
Prices in China are often much lower. The BYD Seagull, for example, starts at about 69,900 yuan, roughly US$10,000. But those prices reflect China’s market, equipment, and taxes, and a China-market vehicle can’t be privately imported into Canada.
What is the “$8,000 Chinese car”?
The nickname is most often used for China’s cheapest EVs, such as BYD’s Seagull. It isn’t sold in Canada, and a China-market Seagull couldn’t be privately imported.
Which electric cars are coming to Canada?
There’s no complete list. Trade reports name BYD, Chery, and Geely as the Chinese brands expected next, while Tesla’s Shanghai-built Model 3 is already arriving under the quota. BYD hasn’t published a Canadian lineup.
Who is eligible for the federal EV rebate?
The Electric Vehicle Affordability Program offers up to $5,000 for a battery-electric vehicle (less for a plug-in hybrid) when the final price is $50,000 or less and the vehicle is built in Canada or a free-trade partner country. China-built vehicles aren’t eligible.
Is it worth getting an electric car in Canada?
It depends mostly on where you can charge and how far you drive. Home charging makes the biggest difference to cost and convenience, and winter reduces range. Incentives vary by province, and China-built models don’t qualify for the federal rebate.